Performances of Disquiet II and Nocturnal in the UK, Sweden and the US

18th February Disquiet II Joseph Houston (piano) University of Sussex
19th February Disquiet II Joseph Houston (piano) University of York

20th February Nocturnal Sondertalje: Ragnhilds Kyrka (Swedish premiere)
21 February Nocturnal Norrkoping (Konstmuseet)
8th March Nocturnal Washington State University
13 March Nocturnal Western Washington University
All with Magnus Andersson, Rohan de Saram and Elise Jacoberger.


Conducted the UK Premiere of Francesconi’s Etymo with the Chimera Ensemble, University of York


Joseph Houston will perform Disquiet I and II in York in 2015-16 and Nocturnal will receive its Swedish premiere as part of a series of performances in early 2016. All dates to be confirmed.

1 Mahler 2


Mahler Symphony no. 2

‘Celebrations marking the fiftieth anniversary of the university’s music department got into top gear on Saturday, with some 400 singers and instrumentalists under John Stringer in a moving account of Mahler’s Second Symphony’

‘What was profoundly stimulating was the concentration and commitment of the players throughout a work that lasts the better part of an hour and a half.’

Martin Dreyer:Yorkshire Press

2. AH

Britten’s opera Albert Herring

On the 07.05.14 I conducted a semi-staged performance of Britten’s comic opera Albert Herringdirected by Alice Wright. The Yorkshire Post’s review headline was ‘York students shine in Britten chamber piece’. The review ended with ‘By any standard the chamber orchestra, with an outstanding harpist, was excellent – the conductor, John Stringer, kept the work moving at just the right pace’.

3 Trio

Nocturnal receives UK Premiere

On 29.10.14 Rohan da Saram, Pascal Gallois and Magnus Andersson gave the UK Premiere of Nocturnal at the Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, YorkIn the same concert Rohan performed the solo cello work Lied:Red Elegy. The following day both works were recorded for future release.

3 Beijing

Beijing Visit, March 2013

Between 18-24 March I visited Capital Normal University (CNU), Beijing as a member of a University of York Music Department delegation. During the week I presented talks about ‘Composition at York’ and met with student and staff composers.

4 CD

Hinterland Performance and Recording

On April 26, 2013 chamber ensemble Dark Inventions gave their debut performance in the chapel of York St John.  The programme included new works by Christopher Leedham and Martin Scheuregger, and also my chamber work Hinterland (1999). Hinterland will be the title track of their new EP release that was recorded in the Rymer Auditorium on April 27.

‘Dark Inventions places contemporary music in a more natural, musical context and seeks to highlight links between traditionally disparate works.’


York Spring Festival 2013

On March 8 at the York Spring Festival 2013, I will be conducting the University Chamber Orchestra in a performance of Webern’s Five Pieces for Orchestra op. 10, Stravinsky’s Movements for Piano and Orchestra (soloist Joseph Houston) and Stravinsky’s Dumbarton Oaks.

On March 9, 2013, Joseph Houston gave a further performance of Disquiet II which was premiered in London in October.

7 tondal

Tondal’s Vision Premiere

22 June, 2012

Tondal’s Vision for ensemble and improvising instrument was written for the Mercury Prize-nominated saxophone player with Roller Trio, James Mainwaring. It is a substantial work lasting about 14 minutes and allows many areas for James to improvise original material, or to take elements of the notated music and do with as he will.

Tondal’s Vision (Bosch’s painting is the most famous visual version) is a 12th century visionary tale of a knight who falls unconscious at a banquet and is guided towards consciousness, through hell, by an unknown angel.

The premiere took place on June 22, 2012 at the Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall, University of York.

7 tur

London Premiere for Disquiet II

19 October, 2012

Having worked with Joe Houston on a performance of the Turangalîla Symphony in 2010, it was a privilege to write Disquiet II for this London concert. Using Pessoa’s The Book of Disquiet as a starting point for a piano work around 2008 – taking his ‘shards’ of material as a means of accumulating a piece of music –  the ‘fragments’ of that work were premiered in Rome by Noriko Kawai; this new work continues with that fragmented approach. Disquiet II lasts about 9 minutes and is in several connected (and unconnected) sections lasting from several minutes to just a few bars lasting seconds. It is more introspective than many of my pieces, but is not without its sudden changes of direction and mood.

The premiere will take place at St. Martin in the Fields, London, on 19th October, 2012 at 1.00pm.